Open, permitless carry law doesn’t change OSU policy
Monday, October 28, 2019
A new handgun law is set to go into effect Nov. 1, but it will not change the rules at Oklahoma State University that prohibit guns from being carried on campus. This applies to every OSU campus across the state. Weapons can be locked in a vehicle on campus but not carried on campus.
“We encourage our students, faculty and staff to communicate with their relatives and friends who may visit campus and not know the law,” said Oklahoma State University Police Chief Leon Jones. “Anyone caught carrying a gun on campus now and after Nov. 1 in violation of the law could face a misdemeanor charge and a fine of up to $250.”
“Constitutional carry” will allow adults 21 years and older or military members 18 years and older to openly carry a firearm in most places except those set forth in the law, including courthouses and schools.
If an individual has a weapon locked in their vehicle and is stopped for a traffic violation, they must tell the officer there is a weapon in the car when asked. Violators could receive a citation up to $100.
OSUPD offers firearms storage for individuals who live on campus on a first-come, first-served basis. Space is limited.
Need more information?
Read the new law at oscn.net.
Contact Capt. Colt Chandler at the OSU Police Department at 405-744-6523